MAI Award 2020

MAI Award 2020

MAI Award Winners

The award ceremony will take place during the Autoimmunity 2022 Congress, taking place in Athens, Greece. 
Dr. Veronica De Rosa

First Prize Winner

Dr. Veronica De Rosa

First Prize Winner

Dr. De Rosa graduated in Biotechnology with highest honors, in 2002 at the University Federico II of Naples. In 2004, Dr. De Rosa won a research doctorate in Molecular Endocrinology and Oncology at the University of Naples Federico II. From 2016 she has a permanent position of Researcher at the Institute for Endocrinology and Experimental Oncology of the National Research Council (IEOS-CNR). Her research activity is mainly focused on the alteration of T cell tolerance and the control of Treg cell function in autoimmunity. She received multiple awards (4th PBI International Prize in 2006, Harlan Prize for Immunology in 2007, Rotary club Prize for young Researcher in 2015, “Rita Levi Montalcini” Prize in 2018).

Nicola Luigi Bragazzi

Second Prize Winner

Nicola Luigi Bragazzi

Second Prize Winner

Nicola Luigi Bragazzi was born on March 2 1986, got his MD in general medicine and surgery from Genoa University (Genoa, Italy) in 2011, his PhD in biophysics from Marburg University (Marburg, Germany) in 2014 and his specialization in Public Health from Genoa University (Genoa, Italy) in 2017. He is a member of the Cochrane Association (Cochrane Reviewer) for the Cochrane Epilepsy Group. He has been awarded as “Young Knight of the Italian Republic” by the President Carlo Azeglio Ciampi in 2005. Recently, in 2019, he has been nominated as one of the top five biomedical researchers worldwide aged less than 40 years in terms of number of publications, articles in Q1 biomedical journals, total impact factor and h-index (383 articles and h-index=24, according to Scopus). He is currently working on infectious disease and vaccination modelling and big data mining in biomedicine at York University.

Dr. Valerio Chiurchiu

Third Prize Winner

Dr. Valerio Chiurchiu

Third Prize Winner

Dr Valerio Chiurchiu’ is a Principal Investigator and head of the Laboratory of Resolution of Neuroinflammation at the European Center for Brain Research/IRCCS Santa Lucia Foundation in Rome. He received his PhD from the University of Rome and he pursued his postdoctoral studies in the lab of Prof. Mauro Maccarrone in the field of Biochemistry and Dr. Luca Battistini in the field of Neuroimmunology. He joined as a post-doc the lab of Prof. Jacobsson at the University of Stockholm and he later received the position of Assistant Professor at Campus Bio-medico University of Rome. He is currently a visiting senior researcher in the lab of Prof. Charles Serhan in Harvard Medical School. Chiurchiù and his team study the immunomodulatory role of bioactive lipids on immune cell populations in both health and disease, with particular focus on the novel field of “Resolution of inflammation”. His studies have contributed to the discovery of the physiological role of the newly characterized specialized pro-resolving lipid mediators in adaptive immunity and their impairment in neurodegenerative diseases with an inflammatory component. For his research he received several prestigious awards.

The Mosaic of Autoimmunity, MAI Award, is a bi-annual award established to encourage progress in autoimmunity research.

Three young scientists will be awarded with Research Grant funding to their institutions for scientific projects in order to further develop their contribution to the field of autoimmunity through outstanding, creative and independent research.

The award ceremony for the MAI Award 2020 will be held during Autoimmunity 2020 Congress. Selection is made by an International Scientific Committee comprised of well-established authorities within the autoimmunity disease fields.

Application for the MAI Award 2020 is now closed.


Main Prize: Up to $30,000 and an invitation to hold a plenary lecture at Autoimmunity 2020 Congress.

Two Additional prizes: Up to $10,000 and an invitation to present a lecture at Autoimmunity 2020 Congress.

This award is supported by the industry, please click here for further information.

  • The winners will be announced during January 2020.
  • Please note that the candidate must be registered to the congress by 30 November 2019.


The Scientific Committee will take into consideration the following:

  • Quality and impact of scientific publications (= H index)
  • Is the planned research in the forefront of international efforts?
  • The quality and level of independence of the previous and planned research.
  • Candidates must be up to the age of 40 as of 1 November 2019.


You can either apply for yourself or nominate somebody with his/her consent regarding the nomination and submission of personal data as described below. The candidate should not yet be an established scientist (not a head of department or professor).

Your application / nomination must include the following personal details:

  • ​Full name
  • Date of birth
  • Institute/Hospital
  • Department
  • Full address
  • Phone
  • Fax
  • Mobile
  • e-mail
  • Present official title/profession/position
  • Degree

motivational cover letter (half a page) why you / nominee should be a candidate for the Award.

Enclose a list of all the candidates publications, divided into originals and reviews.

Highlight and enclose 3–5 of his/her most important articles.

Add a description of the Research Project including estimated detailed budget.

The application needs to be endorsed by the Institution which will be the recipient of the Award payment.

Add Name, Contact and bank account details of Institution that will receive and administer the Award money.

The Award is granted under the condition that the Winner and his/her Institute/Hospital enters into a Research Grant Agreement with the supporting company (see details here), that Winner reports about use of the Award funding and unused funding is returned or used for other approved Research Grants.